Tags

, , , , ,

The Pioneer Woman Cooks is a great blog for it’s humor, photography, and for picking up some great cooking tips, but she unfortunately doesn’t have a ton of dairy free vegetarian recipes. That is why when I saw “Vegetarian lettuce wraps”, I was pretty excited. I haven’t eaten tofu in a while, because I really didn’t want to become a “Tofu-tarian” like I was in high school and college.
Gazing at the crispy, golden colored edges of the tofu made me pretty hungry though. Plus, I thought, doing tofu this way might be a good way to get some vegetarian protein into my family’s belly. Although inspired by The Pioneer Woman, the similarity stops at tofu, corn and chilli powder. This recipe is a great way to get lots of greens into your tummy, and I prefer to eat it wrapped in a tortilla with refried beans on the side. Just as any other recipe I would put on  here, it’s been quite the success with my family and I have gotten multiple requests for it since it’s inception.
Ingredients:
Packet of Extra-firm tofu cut into 1/4 inch thin, half-one inch wide slices
Can of corn
Greens (anything will do – baby-kale, chard, arugula. Spinach tends to be a little too soft and can feel mushy after it’s cooked down). The first time I made this, I used half pack of baby-kale and a few leaves of chard coarsely chopped.
wedge of lemon or lime
Garlic
Olive oil
Spices:
Turmeric
2 tsp Chilli powder or to taste
Coriander powder
Garam masala
Salt
Optional add ins:
Tadka (spices to be tempered in oil) – 1 tsp each of cumin, black mustard seeds, urad dal (also called split black gram), dry chana daal (bengal gram), dry red chillis

eggs (I use 2-4)
Soy sauce
Mushrooms

Recipe:
Heat oil in a large skillet
If using tempering spices, add them now. When mustard seeds start popping, add in garlic and mushrooms if using.
Stir to coat and let fry a little
Add in tofu, 1/2 tsp chilli powder, salt, pinch of garam masala, pinch of turmeric
Coat tofu with oil and stirfry. Dont stir too often so the tofu gets crispy on the outside. As  you are stirring, use the spatula to cut it up into small pieces. The smaller the pieces, the crispier the tofu!
Once tofu gets somewhat crispy on the outside, add corn, 3/4 tsp garam masala, 1/2 tsp chilli powder, 1/2 tsp coriander powder, 1/2 tsp salt. Continue sauteing till tofu is completely crispy on the outside, still not stirring too often.

Can optionally add some soy sauce at this point. When the tofu is done, it should look like in the pictures below:
In the picture on the left, I used tofu from the Asian Market and I added the optional mushrooms – much firmer, but also because of this, needs to be cut very small before hand because its not easy to cut up with the spatula while cooking.
I used Nasoya extra firm tofu from the super-market. Much easier to cut up into smaller pieces with a spatula.
If adding egg, add here. Let the egg harden a little on the bottom, then stir. You know, like if you were making scrambled eggs.
Once the eggs are done, add greens, another 1/2 tsp salt and a few squeezes of lemon juice.
You can also optionally add a 1/2 tsp of soy sauce too. It’ll help wilt the greens.
Mizuna leaves with a sprinkle of soy sauce. Look at how many I put in the pan!
Cover with a lid to steam the greens for a minute.
Then,  fold them into the stirfry. Once cooked down, your family will never know how many greens they just ate!
