Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Its Saturday morning, and no smoothie?!” was the cry that came from my family one weekend morning. That’s when I realized that there were duties that came with being on vacation after your last rotation of medical school (Hurrah!) I guess I should have realized that when I was designated the Provider Of Food, or the POF. I really didn’t mind – I love cooking and I wasn’t able to keep myself from the stove since I had started my vacation.

Anyway, this smoothie which I have dubbed the “Berry-peach Bubblegum Smoothie”, is a staple in my household. My hip, awesome mother-in-law and discriminating husband (who are collectively pickier than your average 5-year-old) request this drink regularly. It tastes unbelievably like that Bubble-yum Bubblegum you ate as a kid but packs a heavy nutritional punch. It has more fruit than a Jamba Juice smoothie but a quarter to half of the sugar, due to the fact that it doesn’t use those nasty pre-made syrups (which makes Jamba juice a guilty pleasure, albeit less so than other drinks). We will use healthier sweeteners and sweeter fruits to balance the more tart flavors of strawberries and peaches. My family swears this smoothie gives them more energy and the amazing flavor will not be lost on anyone, especially those with a sweet tooth in the family.

Prep time: 5 minutes        Cook time: 5 minutes

Serves 4 people

Ingredients:

What you absolutely need:

  • 2 cups non-dairy milk of your choice (I use home-made almond milk or unsweetened soy)
  • 1.5 cup frozen peaches
  • 2 bananas (frozen or fresh)
  • 1.5 cups frozen blueberries or berry mix
  • 1-2 handfuls frozen strawberries
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp blackstrap molasses
  • 1 medium to large sized pear

Optional:

  • Can take out pear and add 1 tbsp of maple syrup (although why would you want to?!)
  • Bananas add smooth, creamy, ice-cream like texture to the smoothie. Other fruits that do this are Chickoo (also known as sapota. you can get a frozen version of this at the indian market), and avocados. I tried a mixture of 1 handful sapota and 1 avocado when we didn’t have bananas one day. I loved it but my husband did not (but he doesn’t like avocados except in guacamole). We usually add chickoo along with bananas to our smoothies.
  • 1 tsp cocoa or raw cacao powder (any more and it can get granule-ey)
  • 1 tsp soy protein powder (any more and it can get granule-ey)
  • 1 handful goji berries
  • 1 capful of vanilla extract or half a vanilla bean
  • 1 handful frozen mango to replace strawberries

Recipe:

Load ingredients in the blender, being careful to load soft ingredients first (such as bananas and non-dairy milk). Blend until smooth.

Nutritional Info (Basic Smoothie):

(Note – I used unsweetened silk soymilk to calculate the data and not frozen peaches as these were the only options available in the recipe calculator I used)
195 Calories     2.9g Fat      41g Carbs        16.5g Sugar         5.5g Dietary Fiber             4.8g Protein

Vitamins as % daily value: Vitamin B12 (25%) Vitamin C (30%)  Calcium (21%) Manganese (29%) Iron 11.4%. The smoothie is a significant source of lots of other vitamins too but it would take up too much room. Find full nutritional info for my recipes at this site.

Minerals: Sodium 47.2mg Potassium 684mg

(Notice how much potassium is in this smoothie and how little sodium! Getting more potassium relative to sodium is a central tenet of the DASH diet to reduce high blood pressure. The DASH diet also has some amazing research in its favor. At the end of the day, I personally think the reason it works is because of the cumulative effect of the fruits and vegetables you eat. A diet high in fruits and vegetables by default has more potassium and less sodium than diets that are not. Watch out if you have kidney problems, are taking a water pill such as hydrochlorthiazide, or the medicine digoxin)

