Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

downloadResidency has caused me to fall off the wagon a little bit with posting, so thank you to Nancy for picking up my slack! Intern year is over though, and a new year means new recipes. However, before I give you the recipe, you have to hear my back-story!

Cream of mushroom soup is an old favorite of mine. Many an after-school snack consisted of soup out of a Campbell’s can. It’s a comfort food for me, and I love to enjoy it while snuggled up in front of the TV during cold winters or drizzly summer days like this one.

Last year, though, I spent a few months trying to stay away from dairy. Despite the weight-loss and the endless compliments about my glowing skin, my downfall came when I had to work nights in the hospital during holiday season. (I love my ICU and ER nurses, but boy do they lay out some tempting candy!)

Anyway, I was still dairy free one chilly fall afternoon and I was frustrated with the lack of vegan or dairy free options on the menu, when of course I stumble upon some creamy wild mushroom soup. The aroma nearly did me in, and I decided I would not let my dairy-free diet prevent me from eating one of my old favorites. Thus, Creamy Mushroom-Artichoke Soup was born! This soup is great not only because of how easy it is to make, but because it gives you a heaping serving of mushrooms, which are on the Environmental Working Group’s Clean 15. Also, mushroom’s might be able to cure colon cancer , prevent breast cancer, and can help save the world to boot!

I love soup recipes in general, because it is really hard to go mess up. For example, in this recipe you can adjust the ingredients to almost any ratio of creaminess, fluidity and chunkiness that you want. As such, I don’t have ingredients listed in precise quantities because, well, my mother doesn’t cook with measuring cups and neither do I. I’ll try to be as specific as I can, though. The recipe is very versatile. I call this a soup, but it can also be used as a sauce to put over pasta, vegetables, eggs or (if you must) meat. You can also use it as a base for a green bean casserole, which I will save for a future post.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of mushrooms. (I usually use button or portobello. Sometimes I use shiitake. Feel free to go nuts and use whatever.)
  • 2-3 artichoke hearts from a can. These add to chunkiness. Use less for a more liquid-like soup and vice versa.
  • Plain, unsweetened almond milk or any other kind of milk/milk-substitute.
  • 1/2 large onion.
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic – finely chopped.
  • Olive oil.
  • Spices: Salt, pepper, oregano, a pinch of rosemary, maybe some basil, and whatever else you want or don’t want.

Equipment:

  • 1 quart sauce pan
  • Hand blender

Preparation:

Heat olive oil in the sauce pan, throw in the garlic until it starts to fry, and then add mushrooms. Sautee until the mushrooms are done and look kind of like the ones in this recipe. Add more oil if needed (mushrooms really soak it up), and add onions. Sautee these till translucent. Add milk to fill a third of the pan and follow up with the spices and artichoke hearts. Let the mixture boil together for a time, and use the hand blender to puree to desired consistency. Enjoy!

-DS

