Tags

, , , , , , , ,

You'll want to scarf it down like nobody is watching but be careful because its hot!

Baked eggs: you will want to scarf it down like nobody is watching but be careful because its hot!

Winter is coming to a close, and I am starting to crave more fresh, crisp veggies, but on some of those brisk spring mornings I still want a piping hot breakfast packed with hearty veggies. The problem is, I’m a medical resident (read: time crunch like the kind only Dr. Who can manage). Coming to save the day are baked eggs. One thing about living in the Delaware Valley is that there are no shortage of people that own chicken coops. One of the ladies at the front desk of our office has her own chickens, and I get my eggs from her. Nothing beats knowing where your chickens come from, and her hens are running around in the sun eating all the insects they want laying some of the best eggs I have ever eaten, with deep orange yolks and whites that cook to become just so fluffy (speaking of which, check out our post on how to perfectly cook eggs!). And you just know eggs are laden with vitamin A, omega 3 fatty acids, and vitamin D from the sun along with all the other things you get from eggs – like the full complement of amino acids, and B-vitamins. Eat your heart out broccoli.

..but I digress.

To save time, I usually make my baked eggs batter the night before. refrigerate overnight, and put it in the oven the next morning before I jump in the shower. Then I have breakfast ready right before I go to work. Mmmm….

Ingredients: (serving size 1)

  • 2 eggs
  • A splash of milk
  • Salt to taste
  • Black pepper

Topping Suggestions: (use whatever is available and in the combination you like. I particularly like mushrooms. I usually use 2-3 toppings

  • 2-3 coarsely chopped Sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 chopped cremini or other mushrooms of your choice
  • Brussel sprouts
  • 1 tbsp chopped onions
  • 1 chopped jalapeno
  • 2 teaspoons of goat cheese
  • basil, oregano or other herb

Directions:

  1. Put the above ingredients in a ramekin that has been greased. Break the yolks with everything in the ramekin and beat the mixture somewhat loosely. The toppings should be evenly distributed but not necessarily the yolk.
  2. Set the oven at 450 and go take a shower and get ready. Check on it every 15 minutes or so. Usually the cooking takes about 35-45 minutes.
  3. Then, change the setting to broil. At the last part check the oven every minute. This will help make the top nice and crispy, but be careful to check the pan every minute, since the broil setting makes things burn quickly. Enjoy!

Warning: You’ll want to scarf this down like nobody is watching, but don’t because it is pretty darn hot!

-DS

