Tags

, , , ,

Vegan gluten free spicy black-bean burgerLately, I have had an insatiable craving for vegan black-bean burgers. I have no idea why, but the crispy crunchy outside with the soft inside, combined with the savory flavors of the vegan mayo and/or sriracha on top..mmm… the symphony of flavors was begging for a replay.

..So I had one, and then another, and then I just started to look for recipes for vegan black-bean burgers online. It’s funny, I know how hunger works, and it is not satiated if you look at 20 pictures of just delectable looking vegan black-bean burgers on the internet. Of course, make delicious vegan black-bean burger patties is what I did. When my husband who has the most discerning palate of anyone I know said they were tasty, I knew I had to share with the world. Especially because bean-recipes are one of my favorites to share with the world.

I was super excited about this recipe because I literally did zero shopping for it – everything I used was already in my pantry.

bean burger

Ingredients:

  • One can of black beans, drained, and one can of chickpeas, with the juice.
  • 2 packets of trader-joes organic oats and flax oatmeal
  • 1 onion, chopped fine
  • 4 serrano chillis chopped fine (I like my burgers spicy! You can de-seed and use jalapenos, or sub bell-peppers if you like)
  • 1 cup of Frozen root vegetables (or frozen beets or steamed or canned beets)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3/4 cup frozen chopped spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen or canned corn
  • 2 tbsp of coconut oil
Pic of a raw frozen patty. Pink color is from the beets

Pic of a raw frozen patty. Batter should be mashed up but still chunky. Pink color is from the beets

Instructions:

  • Mash up the beans and chickpeas. You should still be able to see half fragments of beans – so don’t mash up too much!
  • Add chopped jalapenos and serranos, salt, coconut oil and soy-sauce
  • Grind oatmeal in a coffee grinder to a fine powder and add to the mixture
  • Grind frozen root vegetables in a blender into a powder. Use the dry blades that make powders for this. You can also grate fresh beets/root veggies, or coarsely blend steamed (preferrably lightly steamed) or canned beets. Shredded or grated carrots are a good addition here as well.
  • Add frozen spinach
  • Mix everything together so the ingredients are distributed evenly
  • Spoon onto a cast iron skillet coated with oil and heat for 15 minutes on each side. The cooked patty is brown and has a crust on the top and bottom.

Check out some of my inspirations for this recipe on our pinterest vegan burger board

The topping for the burger is a local jalapeno pesto from the farmers market – Baby Clydesdales Small Batch Hot Sauce

– DS

This post was shared in the following link-ups:

