Today, I had a craving for one of my breakfast staples, which is super filling, and peanut butter is the major ingredient. For me, when trying to eat healthy, feeling full and satisfied is important. Peanut butter is one thing that consistently does a great job of filling my tummy, and over the years I have found some great recipes to fill my life with some rich, nutty flavor but still keep it healthy. Here are some examples.

Note: I always use natural peanut butter with no added sugar, preferably organic, and preferably made with 100% from valencia peanuts.

  1. Peanut butter, chocolate chip and banana sandwich on cinnamon raisin bread: IMG_2431This is one of my go to quick meals, especially for breakfast. I am not a huge fan of Ezekiel bread, but I love the concept, and they really do knock it out of the park with the cinnamon raisin. Slather on a thick layer of peanut butter, sprinkle on a tablespoon of dark chocolate chips, and cover with slices of half of a large banana. Sprinkle with shredded coconut. This is about 400 calories, is SUPER filling and really delicious. Its a really sensory experience too because of the aroma of the cinnamon-raisin and the peanut butter.

 

2. Ants on a log:

This is a great kid-friendly snack that my friend Surbhee  (A co-founder of this blog) taught me. She spent years working as a nanny, and gave me this recipe when I had to work with some clients who had young children. I still use it as a staple and if you ate these when you were a kid its one of those get-in-touch-with-your-inner-child moments. Spread some peanut butter on a small celery stick, space out some raisins, and you are in business.

3. Grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich:

I have the edgy veg blog to thank for this one. I use trader-joes brand rustico bread instead of Ezekiel, but same concept.

4. Peanut Sauce:

Peanut sauce is a super easy condiment and all you need to whip it up is peanut butter, soy-sauce and sriracha. Maybe some sugar or honey. Check out our recipe here. This is great if you have a snack attack – whip this baby up and use it as a dip for carrot sticks, roasted or steamed broccoli, or as a topping for some spiralized veggies.grain_free_chocolate_chip_cookie_dough_bites1

5. Peanut-butter Cookie dough bites:

These grain-free, vegan little gems made primarily of chick-peas are super filling and super delicious. Just look at them! They have an incredibly short ingredient list, are FULL of protein, and taste amazing.

